Here We Go, Here We Go Again.

Towards the end of the Race, a few of my teammates and I sat around and talked about what we wanted from our lives as we transitioned home. I listened as they spun stories about new adventures and more travel and loves found. I was in awe of their extravagant dreaming, of their simple assuredness that they were meant for something bigger than the American dream.

When it was my turn, all I could say was that I was determined to live a life worth writing about.

My teammate Laura came down to see me this morning, and, over a breakfast of the most heavenly pancakes ever, we rehashed the same topic. We were determined to live lives that, for lack of a better word, didn’t suck.  At this point, we’d been to Project Searchlight in Gainesville and heard stories from AIM staffers about what fun a life with Jesus could be. We’d heard the stories about two guys who left everything but their drivers licences at home and hitchhiked across four states in typical Luke 10 style (You can read Neil’s story here). And then the one about the guy who wanted to move to Philly to work for some awesome company, only to be turned down last-minute and is now managing a million dollar dream-giving account for AIM. And on, and on. Story after story.

Stories about how God shows up in the eleventh hour to provide wildly above-and-beyond what His kids could ask or imagine. Stories of His power and providence, of His sense of irony and humor, of His unending, relentless pursuit of the people He adores. Stories of all kinds, from all kinds of people, but people who were committed to this Jesus they love.

It wasn’t just that we wanted to live a life that was only ok. It was that we wanted to be part of a story, of THIS story, the story that is happening at AIM.

During that conversation back in Africa, I thought about the things I wanted in the next season of life. Well, more than wanted, more like, was called to. Community. Discipleship. Kingdom work. Storytelling.

At Project Searchlight, I was given the opportunity to do all of those things.

On November 1st, I’ll be moving to Gainesville to attend a six month discipleship school called the Center for Global Action. CGA gives Racers the opportunity to live in a house together, experiencing real and raw community, to be mentored and discipled a godly men and women, and to pursue the passions that the LORD began to reveal on the Race. CGA is a full-time internship. If you’d like to read more about it, please go to http://www.adventures.org/GlobalAction/index.asp.

For me, that means that I’ll pursuing my biggest passion: writing. AIM has a specially developed Storytelling team, full of talented writers like Jeff Goins and Joe Bunting, two of the top writing bloggers in the country. I’ll be able to learn about my craft while propelling the Kingdom of God through creative writing.

I haven’t been this excited since leaving for the Race almost exactly a year ago. God is abundantly, extravagantly good to give me such a gift. Before I left, He told me to tell the story of the Race. I guess He’s not done letting me do that yet. Hallelujah!

I would love it if you would prayerfully consider partnering with me as I go into this next season of my life.

I will need $600 per month for the CGA tuition. I’m trusting that He will provide more than I could ask or imagine according to His richness and glory.

And while one-time gifts are WONDERFUL, what I’d really love are PARTNERS, people who will commit to long-term prayer support, encouragement and monthly financial giving.

Could you be that person?

If you feel led to give, please go to heatherhartz.theworldrace.org and click on the “Support Me!” tab on the left-hand side. All donations are tax-deductible. Yay!

I’d love for you to ask me questions or to talk with you about what the LORD is doing in my heart. If you want to get in touch with me, you can email me at heathermarie.hartz@gmail.com.  From there we can set up a time for a phone call, a Skype conversation or a cup of coffee. I’d love to share this journey with you.

Until then.

Love.

Leave a Reply

